The Elemental side of Oratory Prep

Line – man made
Form – feels 3D
Space – small depth of field
Line – natural
Shape – geometric
Shape – organic
Value – black and white
Space – close up
color
texture

 

1. What strengths and weaknesses do you see in your own work? I see a-lot of good quality pictures in stationary objects. My weakness is when my object that I want to capture is moving I have trouble capturing it with good quality. Overall I think I’m improving my weakness and i need more practice.

2. How might you improve or refine your approach in future photography projects? I think that I need more composure and patience. i try to get a good shot quick and I try to take as many photos of anything i can see. I need to focus on one thing and really try to look for that one thing/element and be patient. I might try to use the bigger lens for more accurate photos or I might try a different angle.

3. Pick one of your photos, what emotions or messages did you intend to convey through this photograph? I like my photo for Space, more specifically the one with the bee in it. I was very happy that I was able to capture a bee on the flower I think It really conveys the connection between nature and animals. I tried to capture the bright color of the flower and its deep color and i was able to capture the bee with it too.

4. Are there specific elements of art you would like to explore further in your photography? I would like to explore form. a little more. I like to portray a 3D object. Even more so i would like to get a 3D object in motion whilst having it perfectly clear and the background blurry. I think that if I would be able to capture that It would display a lot of emotion and It would be a nice photo.

5. What concepts or techniques do you want to experiment with in your next project? I would like to experiment more on the angle of the photo. I want to experiment on focal length and being able to tell which object need which distances and focal lengths. I want to maybe experiment with my body position. Most importantly I need to focus on getting a fine art photo instead of a more snapshot themed photo.

One thought on “The Elemental side of Oratory Prep”

  1. Critique: I really like the Organic Shape photo it really uses the focus on the leafs and it looks really great. I also really like the geometric shape for similar reasons as the focus on the ball makes the photo really pop.
    Shape – Geometric:FIGURE TO GROUND
    Black and white photo feels all over the place. It seems like a snapshot it doesn’t feel like the angle is specifically highlighting anything. There are lines in the photo that leads to other parts of the photo but they don’t highlight anything specific and just lead to more of just the area. I feel like this photo could benefit with the use of rule of 3rds so it can highlight more of the important parts of the photos because as of right now I don’t know what to look at because there doesn’t seem to be an actual focus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *